EMBU County among the 15 Counties to pilot on issuance of Huduma numbers

EMBU County is among the 15 Counties chosen to pilot on issuance of Huduma numbers.
Every Kenyan Citizen will now be required to have a huduma number issued through the NIIMS portal.
What is NIIMS
NIIMS is a portal for registration of all Kenyan Citizens and foreigners within the country. The National Integrated Identity Management System (NIIMS) is used to establish a master population register that will be the only single source of identify any person in Kenya. The process of NIIMS registration is done offline but the data is stored online and will be shared among different government agencies listed below.
After registration you will be issued with a Huduma number (namba). This however does not invalidate other registration processes like (Registration for ID or birth certificate). It only assists in issuing persons residing in Kenya with an identity number that will pinpoint them (you) across all sectors of government by just typing the number.
Function of NIIMS in Kenya
To create and maintain national population in Kenya
To assign a unique national identification Huduma number to every person registered.
Help in issuance of national identification cards, foreigner certificates, births and death certificates, driving licenses, work permits, passports and foreign travel documentation, student identification cards and all other forms of government issued identification documentation




What is Huduma Number (Namba)?
Huduma Number (Namba) is a number provided through NIIMS registration that is the ‘source of truth’ of identity of all persons residing in Kenya. Unlike a national ID or birth certificate that is issued to only Kenyan Citizens, Huduma Number will be issued to all persons residing in Kenya, be it refugees or foreigners.

Is it Must to register at NIIMS for Huduma Number?
Yes, this is a must have. If you don’t have Huduma Namber, you will not be able to access government services including registration or renewal or replacement of National ID, Application for Passport, Application or renewal for driving license, Birth certificate

NIIMS Registration Form Filling Details
The niims registration form will collect the following information from you during registration;

Bio data information
Nationality (Citizen, Foreigner, Dual Citizen)
Parent/ guardian details
Place of birth
Marital status
Education details
Employment status
Agricultural activities
Biometric details
Your Photo
Process of how your information is captured through NIIMS and stored
Below is step by step process on how your information is collected and stored;

STEP 1: You will fill in a hard copy that contains your bio data, biometrics and photos
STEP 2: This information is transferred to a registration kit that stores captured data locally
STEP 3: At the end of the day the information is uploaded to the server
STEP 4: The data is then the fed to the Huduma Namba Server and UPI is generated.
Process of NIIMS Registration and issuance of Huduma Numbers
Process of NIIMS Registration and issuance of Huduma Numbers/Photo
Where will the Huduma Namber (Namba) be used?
The huduma namber (Namba) will be used for registration and processing of information in the following government departments;

Refugees Affairs
How to Register for Huduma Number through NIIMS
Registration for a NIIMS for Huduma Namba (Number) is currently not done online because you are required to present yourself physically. Go to your sub chief office or sub county office if you cannot locate any registration center near your (2017 Voting Centre). In Nairobi CBD, go to the nearest Huduma Center for registration.

Embu County Overview

Embu County is a county of Kenya. Lying approximately 120 Km North East of Nairobi.Embu town is the capital of Embu County.The county borders Kitui County to the east, Kirinyaga County to the west Tharaka Nithi County to the North and Machakos County to the south. The county comprises of four constituencies namely Runyenjes, Manyatta, Mbeere north& Mbeere South. The county under the devolved government is further divided into five sub-Counties; namely, Embu West with headquarters at Embu town, and Embu North with headquarters at Manyatta. These two form Manyatta constituency, Embu East with headquarters at Runyenjes, Mbeere North with headquarters at Siakago, and Mbeere South with headquarters at Kiritiri market.

The People

County Leadership

6 Major Towns